Wells Fargo Championship

The official site of the PGA TOUR’s Wells Fargo Championship

Latest News

Phil Mickelson Enters Field for Wells Fargo Championship

Charlotte, NC — April 18, 2019 – Tournament officials announced today the commitment from one of golf’s greatest players, Phil Mickelson, for the Wells Fargo Championship, scheduled for April 29-May 5 at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, NC.

Mickelson, the World Golf Hall of Fame member and winner of 44 career PGA TOUR titles, will be competing in his 16th consecutive Wells Fargo Championship. The five-time major championship winner holds the tournament record for the most top-ten finishes with ten. These include a third-place finish in both 2007 and 2013, a runner-up finish in 2010 and back-to-back fourth place finishes in 2015 and 2016. Mickelson also holds the tournament record for most consecutive 36-hole cuts made with 15.

“Phil is not only a fan-favorite around the world, he certainly is here in Charlotte,” Tournament Director Gary Sobba said. “His support of the Wells Fargo Championship since 2014 has been outstanding and much appreciated.”

With over $3.5 million in career earnings at the Wells Fargo Championship, Mickelson is the only player ranked among the top ten on that list, who has not won the tournament. He is second behind two-time champion Rory McIlroy.

Earlier this season, Mickelson won the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am.

Mickelson is also the 12th major championship winner scheduled to compete here. That impressive list, previously announced by tournament officials, includes, Jason Day, Justin ThomasDanny WillettPadraig HarringtonJason DufnerDavis Love IIIStewart CinkLucas GloverSergio GarciaHenrik Stenson and Rory McIlroy.

Players have until Friday, April 26 at 5:00 p.m. Eastern time to commit to the Wells Fargo Championship and can withdraw from the tournament at any time.

For the first time, the Wells Fargo Championship is partnering with Ticketmaster to streamline the ticket purchase process for fans. To purchase tickets, please visit wellsfargochampionship.com.